Term dates

Please note that these dates are published in advance to facilitate planning. However, they may be subject to change if there are national changes to bank holidays, or if they become out of line with local education authority dates which are only published a year in advance.

The Boarding Houses are generally open during term time and closed from the afternoon of the last day of term. Please refer to the calendar for specific dates and times when making travel plans.

Trinity Term 2024

(Easter long weekend runs from Friday 29th March – Monday 1st April)

Sunday 14th April – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Starts – Monday 15th April

Monday 6th May is a school holiday (Boarding Houses will be open for Boarders over early May Bank Holiday weekend)

Friday 24th May – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 27th May – Friday 31st May inclusive

Sunday 2nd June – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Prize Day – Saturday 29th June

Term Ends –  Friday 5th July – normal school day for all pupils Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Michaelmas Term 2024

Friday 30th August and Monday 2nd September are Staff INSET days – pupils not in school

Sunday 1st September – All new boarders arrive from 15:00; Welcome Reception for new boarders, parents and guardians 17:00 – 17:45

Monday 2nd September – Induction Day for all new Boarders

Monday 2nd September – Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for all Year 12 students and parents 17:45-20:00

Tuesday 3rd September – Induction Day for pupils in Year 7 (all), Year 9 (Boys), Year 9 (new girls and buddies only) & Y12 (all)

Tuesday 3rd September – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts – Wednesday 4th September

Friday 18th October is Founder’s Day – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 21st October – Friday 1st November inclusive

Sunday 3rd November – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Ends – Friday 13th December – at 12;30 for pupils at Heatherton, Berkhamsted Pre-Prep and Berkhamsted Prep, with those sites to close at 13;00. Senior School pupils’ term will end at 13;00, and these sites will close at 13:30.  Boarding Houses close at 14:00

Lent Term 2025

Sunday 5th January – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Starts –  Monday 6th January

Thursday 13th February – Boarding houses close at 18:00

Friday 14th February is a Staff INSET day – pupils not in School.

Half Term –  Monday 17th – Friday 21st February inclusive

Sunday 23rd February – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Ends –  Thursday 3rd April  – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Friday 4th April is a Staff INSET Day – pupils not in school

 

Trinity Term 2025

(Easter long weekend runs from Friday 18th – Monday 21st April)

Monday 21st April – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Starts – Tuesday 22nd April

Monday 5th May is a school holiday (Boarding Houses will be open for Boarders over early May Bank Holiday weekend)

Friday 23rd May – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 26th May – Friday 30th May inclusive

Sunday 1st June – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Prize Day – Saturday 28th June

Term Ends –  Friday 4th July – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Michaelmas Term 2025

Thursday 28th August is New Staff Induction Day

Friday 29th August and Monday 1st September are Staff INSET days – pupils not in school

Sunday 31st August – All new boarders arrive from 15:00; Welcome Reception for new boarders, parents and guardians 17:00 – 17:45

Monday 1st September – Induction Day for all new Boarders

Monday 1st September – Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for all Year 12 students and parents 19:00 – 21:00

Tuesday 2nd September – Induction Day for pupils in Year 7 (all), Year 9 (Boys), Year 9 (new girls and buddies only) & Y12 (all)

Tuesday 2nd September – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts – Wednesday 3rd September

Friday 17th October is Founder’s Day – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 20th October – Friday 31st October inclusive

Sunday 2nd November – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Ends – Friday 12th December – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Lent Term 2026

Sunday 4th January – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Starts –  Monday 5th January

Thursday 12th February – Boarding houses close at 18:00

Friday 13th February is a Staff INSET day – pupils not in School

Half Term –  Monday 16th – Friday 20th February inclusive

Sunday 22nd February – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Ends –  Thursday 26th March  – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Friday 27th March is a Staff INSET Day – pupils not in school

 

Trinity Term 2026

(Easter long weekend runs from Friday 3rd April – Monday 6th April)

Sunday 12th April – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Starts – Monday 13th April

Monday 4th May is a school holiday (Boarding Houses will be open for Boarders over early May Bank Holiday weekend)

Friday 22nd May – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May inclusive

Sunday 31st May – Boarders return between 15:00 and 21:00

Term Ends –  Friday 3rd July – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Please note that these dates are published in advance to facilitate planning. However, they may be subject to change if there are national changes to bank holidays, or if they become out of line with local education authority dates which are only published a year in advance.