Term dates

Please note that these dates are published in advance to facilitate planning. However, they may be subject to change if there are national changes to bank holidays, or if they become out of line with local education authority dates which are only published a year in advance.

The Boarding Houses are generally open during term time and closed from the afternoon of the last day of term. Please refer to the calendar for specific dates and times when making travel plans.

Michaelmas Term 2022

Thursday 1st September is new staff induction day

Friday 2nd and Monday 5th September are Staff INSET days – pupils not in school

Sunday 4th September – New Year 12 Boarders arrive 14:30 – 17:00; Welcome Reception for new boarders, parents and guardians 18:00 – 20:00

Monday 5th September – Induction Day for all new Boarders

Monday 5th September – Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for all Year 12 students and parents 19:00 – 21:00

Y12/New Pupils start Tuesday 6th September (all Y9 in School)

Tuesday 6th September – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts – Wednesday 7th September

Friday 21st October is Founder’s Day – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term Monday 24th October – Friday 4th November inclusive

Sunday 6th November – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Ends Friday 16th December – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Lent Term 2023

Sunday 8th January – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts – Monday 9th January

Thursday 9th February – Boarders may leave after 16:30

Friday 10th February is a Staff INSET day – pupils not in School; Boarding Houses close at 14:30

Half Term –  Monday 13th – Friday 17th February inclusive

Sunday 19th February – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Ends –  Thursday 30th March – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Friday 31st March is a Staff INSET Day – pupils not in school

Trinity Term 2023

(Easter long weekend runs from Friday 7th – Monday 10th April)

Sunday 16th April – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts –  Monday 17th April

Monday 1st May is a school holiday (Boarding Houses will be open for Boarders over early May Bank Holiday weekend)

Friday 26th May – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 29th May – Friday 2nd June inclusive
Sunday 4th June – Boarders return by 21:00

Prize Day Saturday 1st July

Term Ends –  Friday 7th July – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

 

Michaelmas Term 2023

Friday 1st and Monday 4th September are Staff INSET days – pupils not in school

Sunday 3rd September – New Year 12 Boarders arrive 14:30 – 16:30; Welcome Reception for new boarders, parents and guardians 17:00 – 17:45

Monday 4th September – Induction Day for all new Boarders

Monday 4th September – Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for all Year 12 students and parents 19:00 – 21:00

Tuesday 5th September – Y12/New Pupils start (all Y9 in School)

Tuesday 5th September – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts – Wednesday 6th September

Tuesday 17th October is Founder’s Day – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Wednesday 18th October – Wednesday 1st November inclusive

Wednesday 1st November – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Ends –  Friday 15th December – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Lent Term 2024

Sunday 7th January – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts –  Monday 8th January

Thursday 15th February – Boarders may leave after 16:30

Friday 16th February is a Staff INSET day – pupils not in School; Boarding Houses close at 14:30

Half Term –  Monday 19th – Friday 23rd February inclusive

Sunday 25th February – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Ends –  Wednesday 27th March – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Thursday 28th March is a Staff INSET Day – pupils not in school

 

Trinity Term 2024

Easter long weekend runs from Friday 29th March – Monday 1st April

Sunday 14th April – Boarders return by 21:00 9:

Term Starts – Monday 15th April

Monday 6th May is a school holiday (Boarding Houses will be open for Boarders over early May Bank Holiday weekend)

Friday 24th May – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 27th May – Friday 31st May inclusive

Sunday 2nd June – Boarders return by 21:00

Prize Day – Saturday 29th June

Term Ends –  Friday 5th July – normal school day for all pupils Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Michaelmas Term 2022

New Staff Induction – Thursday 1 September


INSET – Pupils not in school – Friday 2 September and Monday 5 September


New Boarders arrive and welcome reception – Sunday 4 September 14:30 – 17:00 arrive, 18:00 – 20:00 reception


Induction day for new boarders – Monday 5 September


Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for Y12 – students and parents – Monday 5 September 19:00 – 21:00


Induction Day: Induction Day: All Y7 and Y12.  New Y9 & 10s (girls) and Y9 New Joiners (boys) – Tuesday 6 September


All Boarders return – Tuesday 6 September by 21:00


Term Starts – Wednesday 7 September


Half Term – Monday 24 October – Friday 4 November inclusive


Boarders return – Sunday 6 November by 21:00


Term Ends – Friday 16 December – Normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Lent Term 2023

All Boarders return – Sunday 8 January by 21:00


Term Starts – Monday 9 January


INSET Day – Pupils not in school – Friday 10 February


Half Term – Monday 13 February – Friday 17 February inclusive


Boarders return – Sunday 19 February by 21:00


Term Ends – Thursday 30 March –  normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00


INSET Day – Pupils not in school – Friday 31 March

Trinity Term 2023

Boarders return – Sunday 16 April by 21:00


Term Starts – Monday 17 April


School Holiday – Monday 1 May (Boarding Houses remain open)


Half Term – Monday 29 May – Friday 2 June inclusive


Boarders return – Sunday 4 June by 21:00


Prize Day – Saturday 1 July


Term Ends – Friday 7 July –  normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Michaelmas Term 2023

New Staff Induction – Thursday 31st August


INSET – Pupils not in school – Friday 1 September and Monday 4 September


New Boarders arrive and welcome reception – Sunday 3 September 14:30 – 17:00 arrive, 18:00 – 20:00 reception


Induction day for new boarders – Monday 4 September


Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for Y12 – students and parents – Monday 4 September 19:00 – 21:00


Induction Day: Induction Day: All Y7 and Y12.  New Y9 & 10s (girls) and all Y9 New Joiners (boys) – Tuesday 5 September


All Boarders return – Tuesday 5 September by 21:00


Term Starts – Wednesday 6 September


Half Term – Wednesday 18 October – Wednesday 1 November


Boarders return – Wednesday 1 November by 21:00


Term Ends – Friday 15 December – Normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Lent Term 2024

Boarders return – Sunday 7 January by 21:00


Term Starts – Monday 8 January


Boarders – Thursday 15 February – boarders may leave after 16:30


INSET – Pupils not in school – Friday 16 February


Half Term – Monday 19  February – Friday23 February inclusive


Boarders return – Sunday 25 February by 21:00


Term Ends – Wednesday 27 March  –  normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00


INSET – Pupils not in school – Thursday 28 March

Trinity Term 2024

Boarders return – Sunday 14 April by 21:00


Term Starts – Monday 15 April


School Holiday – Monday 6 May (Boarding Houses remain open)


Boarders – Friday 24 May – Boarding Houses close at 18:00


Half Term – Monday 27 May  – Friday 31 May inclusive


Boarders return – Sunday 2 June by 21:00


Term Ends – Friday 5 July   –  normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00