Term dates

The term dates relate to all schools within the Berkhamsted School’s Group.

The Boarding Houses are generally open during term time and closed from the afternoon of the last day of term. Please refer to the calendar for specific dates and times when making travel plans.

Please note that these dates are published in advance to facilitate planning. However, they may be subject to change if there are national changes to bank holidays, or if they become out of line with local education authority dates which are only published a year in advance.

Lent Term 2024

Sunday 7th January – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts –  Monday 8th January

Thursday 15th February – Boarders may leave after 16:30

Friday 16th February is a Staff INSET day – pupils not in School; Boarding Houses close at 14:30

Half Term –  Monday 19th – Friday 23rd February inclusive

Sunday 25th February – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Ends –  Wednesday 27th March – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Thursday 28th March is a Staff INSET Day – pupils not in school

 

Trinity Term 2024

(Easter long weekend runs from Friday 29th March – Monday 1st April)

Sunday 14th April – Boarders return by 21:00 9:

Term Starts – Monday 15th April

Monday 6th May is a school holiday (Boarding Houses will be open for Boarders over early May Bank Holiday weekend)

Friday 24th May – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 27th May – Friday 31st May inclusive

Sunday 2nd June – Boarders return by 21:00

Prize Day – Saturday 29th June

Term Ends –  Friday 5th July – normal school day for all pupils Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Michaelmas Term 2024

Friday 30th August and Monday 2nd September are Staff INSET days – pupils not in school

Sunday 1st September – All new boarders arrive from 15:00; Welcome Reception for new boarders, parents and guardians 17:00 – 17:45

Monday 2nd September – Induction Day for all new Boarders

Monday 2nd September – Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for all Year 12 students and parents 19:00 – 21:00

Tuesday 3rd September – Induction Day for pupils in Year 7 (all), Year 9 (Boys), Year 9 (new girls and buddies only) & Y12 (all)

Tuesday 3rd September – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts – Wednesday 4th September

Friday 18th October is Founder’s Day – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 21st October – Friday 1st November inclusive

Sunday 3rd November – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Ends – Friday 13th December – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Lent Term 2025

Sunday 5th January – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts –  Monday 6th January

Thursday 13th February – Boarders may leave after 16:30

Friday 14th February is a Staff INSET day – pupils not in School;  Boarding Houses close at 14:30

Half Term –  Monday 17th – Friday 21st February inclusive

Sunday 23rd February – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Ends –  Thursday 3rd April  – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Friday 4th April is a Staff INSET Day – pupils not in school

 

Trinity Term 2025

(Easter long weekend runs from Friday 18th – Monday 21st April)

Monday 21st April – Boarders return by 21:00

Term Starts – Tuesday 22nd April

Monday 5th May is a school holiday (Boarding Houses will be open for Boarders over early May Bank Holiday weekend)

Friday 23rd May – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Half Term – Monday 26th May – Friday 30th May inclusive

Sunday 1st June – Boarders return by 21:00

Prize Day – Saturday 28th June

Term Ends –  Friday 4th July – normal school day for all pupils – Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Please note that these dates are published in advance to facilitate planning. However, they may be subject to change if there are national changes to bank holidays, or if they become out of line with local education authority dates which are only published a year in advance.