对Berkhamsted学校的图书馆阅读计划的分析显示,今年七年级学生取得了优异的成绩。

自9月推出《Bookopoly》以来,七年级男孩和女孩已经阅读了超过1,216本小说。学生们在一块基于著名的家庭游戏的棋盘上工作。它们是与每块瓷砖相关的挑战,例如,阅读特定主题的书籍或 2019 年出版的书籍。

 

阅读的乐趣与力量

"Bookopoly"倡议与"阅读的乐趣和力量"思想联系起来,旨在吸引和激励学生进行识字学习。100%的7年级学生参加了比赛,与前一年相比,他们一起阅读了460本书。

分析表明,大卫·沃利亚姆斯是最受欢迎的作家。然而,学生阅读的书籍共有357个不同的作者。

现象参与

贝塔尼·唐宁(Bethany Downing)代表图书馆团队说:"当我们开始考虑新的阅读计划时,我们的主要目标是让不情愿的读者参与进来。

"男孩和阅读上会有耻辱,这已不是什么秘密,所以我们在研究和实施中考虑到了这一点。该计划还需要继续鼓励学生阅读各种作者/作品,供他们自己享用。"Bookopoly"旨在互动和有趣,以适度但可实现的奖品作为奖励。


"考虑到这一点,'Bookopoly'在吸引学生和创造竞争方面是完美的选择。这个计划不仅对狂热的读者来说,通过《伯克汉姆斯特德男孩》和《伯哈姆斯特德女孩》也非常出色。我们今年从学生身上看到的敬业度是惊人的!

现代技术是"Bookpoly"成功不可或缺的一部分。学生们的学习平台"萤火虫"使读者能够回顾每本书,并给予五分之一的星级。学生茁壮成长,而教师能够跟踪进度,获得见解,向家长报告。

库方案反馈

学生的反馈大致上是积极的。他们说:

"'书本'很有趣,因为我读了通常不读的书。

"我喜欢探索新的书籍类型。

"我喜欢你写完一本书时的感觉,你可以填写'Bookopoly'表格。感觉就像你肯定完成了一些事情,当你完成它。


总体而言,绝大多数七年级学生觉得"Bookopoly"帮助他们成为更有信心的读者,并鼓励他们探索新的流派和作者。

这项计划在阅读方面引起了轰动,并激发了讨论和书籍推荐。

图书馆小组现正与英语系合作,推行新的八年级阅读计划,并进一步策略,支持九年级学生阅读,以纯享享乐。

了解更多关于生活,在:

伯克哈姆斯特德男孩 

berkhamsted girs

An analysis of Berkhamsted School’s Library Reading Scheme has revealed exceptional results for Year 7 pupils this year.

The Year 7 boys and girls have enjoyed reading over 1,216 fiction books since the launch of ‘Bookopoly’ in September. Pupils work their way around a board based on the famous family game. They are set challenges relating to each tile which could be to read a book of a particular theme or a book published in 2019 for example.

 

Joy and Power of Reading

The ‘Bookopoly’ initiative links to ‘The Joy and Power of Reading’ ideology and aims to engage and motivate pupils in their literacy learning. 100% of Year 7 pupils participated in the game and together they read an additional 460 books in comparison to the previous year.

The analysis indicated that David Walliams was the most popular author. Nevertheless, pupils read books by a variety of 357 different authors in total.

Phenomenal engagement

Bethany Downing, on behalf of the library team said, “When we began thinking about a new reading scheme, our main aim was to get reluctant readers to engage.

“It is no secret that there can be a stigma around boys and reading so we considered this in our research and implementation. The scheme also needed to continue to encourage students to read a variety of authors/genres for their own enjoyment. ‘Bookopoly’ was designed to be interactive and fun with modest but achievable prizes as rewards.


“With this in mind, ‘Bookopoly’ has been the perfect fit in terms of engaging pupils and creating competition. This is a scheme that is not only excellent for avid readers through Berkhamsted Boys and Berkhamsted Girls, but for reluctant readers too. The level of engagement we’ve seen this year from our pupils has been phenomenal!”

Modern technology has been integral to the success of ‘Bookopoly’. The pupils’ learning platform ‘Firefly’ has enabled readers to review each book and give a star rating out of five. Pupils thrived while teachers were able to track progress and gain insights to report to parents.

Library scheme feedback

Feedback from pupils was broadly positive. They said:

“’Bookopoly’ was fun because I got to read books that I don’t usually read.”

“I liked exploring new genres of books.”

“I liked the feeling when you finish a book and you could fill in the ‘Bookopoly’ sheet. It felt like you had definitely accomplished something when you finished it.”


Overall the vast majority of Year 7 pupils felt ‘Bookopoly’ helped them to become more confident readers and encouraged them to explore new genres and authors.

The scheme has created a buzz around reading and it has inspired discussions and book recommendations.

The library team are now working with the English Department on the implementation of new reading schemes for Year 8 and further strategies to support Year 9 pupils with reading for pure enjoyment.

Learn more about life at:

Berkhamsted Boys 

Berkhamsted Girls