Age 0 - 3 Age 3 - 7 Age 7 - 11 Age 3 - 11 Age 11 - 16 Age 11 - 16 Age 16 - 18

Term Dates

scroll down

The term dates relate to all schools within the Berkhamsted School’s Group.

The Boarding Houses are generally open during term time and closed from the afternoon of the last day of term. Please refer to the calendar for specific dates and times when making travel plans.

Please note that these dates are published in advance to facilitate planning.  However, they may be subject to change if there are national changes to bank holidays, or if they become out of line with local education authority dates which are only published a year in advance.

Michaelmas Term 2021

New Staff Induction Wednesday 1 September
Co-Curricular Extension Days Thursday 2 September to Sunday 5 September
New Boarders arrive Sunday 5 September 16:00 – 18:00
INSET – Pupils not in school Monday 6 September. Boarding Houses close at 11:00
Induction day for new boarders Monday 6 September
Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for Y12 – students and parents Monday 6 September 19:00 – 21:00
Induction Day: All Y7 and Y12.  New Y9 & 10s (girls) and all Y9 boys Tuesday 7 September
All Boarders return Tuesday 7 September by 21:00
Term Starts Wednesday 8 September
Half Term Monday 25 October – Friday 5 November inclusive
Boarders return Sunday 7 November by 21:00
Term Ends Friday 17 December –  normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00

 

Lent Term 2022

All Boarders return Sunday 9 January by 21:00
Term Starts Monday 10 January
INSET Day – Pupils not in school Friday 11 February
Half Term (Pre-Prep, Prep, Boys, Girls and Sixth) Monday 14 February – Friday 18 February inclusive
Boarders return
Sunday 20 February 21:00
Half Term (Heatherton only) Monday 21 February – Friday 25 February inclusive
Term Ends Thursday 31 March – normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00
INSET Day – Pupils not in school Friday 1 April

 

Trinity Term 2022

Boarders return Tuesday 19 April by 21:00
Term Starts Wednesday 20 April
School Holiday Monday 2 May (Boarding Houses remain open)
Half Term Monday 30 May – Friday 3 June inclusive
Boarders return Sunday 5 June by 21:00
Prize Day Saturday 2 July
Term Ends Friday 8 July – normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00

 

Michaelmas Term 2022

New Staff Induction Thursday 1 September
INSET – Pupils not in school Friday 2 September and Monday 5 September
New Boarders arrive and welcome reception Sunday 4 September 14:30 – 17:00 arrive, 18:00 – 20:00 reception
Induction day for new boarders Monday 5 September
Berkhamsted Sixth Welcome Evening for Y12 – students and parents Monday 5 September 19:00 – 21:00
Induction Day: Induction Day: All Y7 and Y12.  New Y9 & 10s (girls) and all Y9 boys Tuesday 6 September
All Boarders return Tuesday 6 September by 21:00
Term Starts Wednesday 7 September
Half Term Monday 24 October – Friday 4 November inclusive
Boarders return Sunday 6 November by 21:00
Term Ends Friday 16 December – Normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00

 

Lent Term 2023

All Boarders return Sunday 8 January by 21:00
Term Starts Monday 9 January
INSET Day – Pupils not in school Friday 10 February
Half Term Monday 13 February – Friday 17 February inclusive
Boarders return Sunday 19 February by 21:00
Term Ends Thursday 30 March –  normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00
INSET Day – Pupils not in school Friday 31 March

 

Trinity Term 2023

Boarders return Sunday 16 April by 21:00
Term Starts Monday 17 April
School Holiday Monday 1 May (Boarding Houses remain open)
Half Term Monday 29 May – Friday 2 June inclusive
Boarders return Sunday 4 June by 21:00
Prize Day Saturday 1 July
Term Ends Friday 7 July –  normal school day for all pupils. Boarding Houses close at 18:00

Please note that these dates are published in advance to facilitate planning.  However, they may be subject to change if there are national changes to bank holidays, or if they become out of line with local education authority dates which are only published a year in advance.